Open Education Resources: Finding OERS

Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.

Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.

Table of contents

Unit 1. The Chemistry of Life
Unit 2. The Cell
Unit 3. Genetics
Unit 4. Evolutionary Processes
Unit 5. Biological Diversity
Unit 6. Plant Structure and Function
Unit 7. Animal Structure and Function
Unit 8. Ecology

Part I: Ecosystems and Humans
Part II: The Biosphere: Characteristics and Dynamics
Part III: The Human Population
Part IV: Natural Resources
Part V: Environmental Damages
Part VI: Ecologically Sustainable Development

Welcome to Environmental Sustainability in Practice! We are excited that you are interested in learning more about what is happening in the field of environmental sustainability. We have chosen to introduce you to five areas in which society is working towards environmental sustainability: education, planning and management, agriculture, geospatial technologies, and communications. These areas reflect the expertise of the individuals involved in the development of the learning modules, as well as provide a sample of the diversity of disciplines, practices, and actors involved in the pursuit of environmental sustainability. Many other areas and topics could have been added to this work, but this was beyond the scope of the project. We hope the examples chosen highlight the interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary nature of environmental sustainability, the complexity of the field, as well as the positive steps that are being taken toward a more sustainable world. You can work through the modules in order, or choose whichever interests you the most and begin there.

Aesthetic Theory and Practice offers fresh perspectives on canonical and emerging topics in aesthetics, and also brings attention to a number of culturally sensitive topics that are customarily silenced in introductions to philosophical aesthetics. The papers are heterogeneous in terms of length and degrees of difficulty, inviting the reader into the study of contemporary aesthetics, which spans a lifetime.

Introduction to Philosophy: Epistemology engages first-time philosophy readers on a guided tour through the core concepts, questions, methods, arguments, and theories of epistemology—the branch of philosophy devoted to the study of knowledge. The book progresses systematically while placing key ideas and thinkers in historical and contemporary context. Central topics include the analysis of knowledge, the nature of epistemic justification, rationalism vs. empiricism, skepticism, the value of knowledge, the ethics of belief, Bayesian epistemology, social epistemology, and feminist epistemologies.

Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Religion introduces some of the major traditional arguments for and against the existence of God, as well as some less well-known, but thought-provoking arguments for the existence of God, and one of the most important new challenges to religious belief from the Cognitive Science of Religion. An introductory chapter traces the connection between philosophy and religion throughout Western history, and a final chapter addresses the place of non-Western and non-mon

The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture.

Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.

It covers the following topics in business:

teamwork
economics
ethics
entrepreneurship
business ownership, management, and leadership
organizational structures and operations management
human resources and motivating employees
managing in labour union contexts
marketing and pricing strategy
hospitality and tourism
accounting and finance
personal finances

Book covers the following topics in business: Teamwork; economics; ethics; entrepreneurship; business ownership, management, and leadership; organizational structures and operations management; human resources and motivating employees; managing in labor union contexts; marketing and pricing strategy; hospitality and tourism, accounting and finance, and personal finances.

Elementary Algebra is a work text that covers the traditional topics studied in a modern elementary algebra course. Use of this book will help the student develop the insight and intuition necessary to master algebraic techniques and manipulative skills.Elementary Algebra is a work text that covers the traditional topics studied in a modern elementary algebra course. It is intended for students who (1) have no exposure to elementary algebra, (2) have previously had an unpleasant experience with elementary algebra, or (3) need to review algebraic concepts and techniques.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Chapter 1: Introduction to Geography
Chapter 2: Earth's Lithosphere
Chapter 3: Earth's Atmosphere
Chapter 4: Earth's Hydrosphere
Chapter 5: Earth's Biosphere
Chapter 6: Population and Migration
Chapter 7: Cultural Geography
Chapter 8: Food and Agriculture
Chapter 9: Urban Geography
Chapter 10: Political Geography
Chapter 11: Development and Health
Chapter 12: Environmental Issues
Chapter 13: Living with Disasters

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ch 1: Introduction to Geography​​
Ch 2: Population and Migration
Ch 3: Cultural Geography
Ch 4: Political Geography
Ch 5: Sustainable Development
Ch 6: Food, Water, & Agriculture
Ch 7: Urban Geography
Ch 8: Environmental Issues
Ch 9: Living with Disasters

Geography is a diverse discipline that has some sort of connection to most every other academic discipline. This connection is the spatial perspective, which essentially means if a phenomenon can be mapped, it has some kind of relationship to geography. Studying the entire world is a fascinating subject, and geographical knowledge is fundamental to a competent understanding of our world. In this chapter, you will learn what geography is as well as some of the fundamental concepts that underpin the discipline. These fundamental terms and concepts will be interwoven throughout the text, so a sound understanding of these topics is critical as you delve deeper into the chapters that follow.

Abnormal Psychology: This textbook was created to provide an engaging and personally relevant overview of the discipline of Abnormal Psychology. It introduces the theories useful for understanding the cognitive and behavioral patterns which impair personal effectiveness and adjustment. It is not intended to provide a comprehensive overview of the discipline. You - the student - will provide much of the substantive content and teaching presence.

Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

Abnormal Psychology: This textbook was created to provide an engaging and personally relevant overview of the discipline of Abnormal Psychology. It introduces the theories useful for understanding the cognitive and behavioral patterns which impair personal effectiveness and adjustment. It is not intended to provide a comprehensive overview of the discipline. You - the student - will provide much of the substantive content and teaching presence.

Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course.

Books is suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook. Besides the fundamental discussions of organic acids-bases, stereochemistry, IR and NMR, this book also includes the topics of substitution and elimination reactions, radical substitution of alkanes, preparation and reactions of alkenes and alkynes.

Introductory Chemistry is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course. Throughout the chapters, David presents two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook, that chemistry is everywhere.

This course is designed to help students develop their writing, reading, and thinking skills. Major emphasis is on writing and the writing process. Students will be assigned a variety of both formal and informal writings in expository, narrative, and persuasive modes. In addition, students will be expected to respond in writing to a variety of readings. Although instruction in grammar and mechanics is provided, students are expected to enter the course with a firm foundation in basic writing skills. Student papers will often be used to illustrate writing techniques.

The Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) is an award-winning online writing lab resource for writers.

1, 2, 3 Write! provides step-by-step instruction to build college writing skills. It combines comprehensive grammar and mechanics review with sentence, paragraph and essay writing techniques and practice. Links to example essays from professional and student writers demonstrate the skills studied and provide reading and critical thinking opportunities.

Designed specifically for Kwantlen Polytechnic University students, this Pressbook offers interactive activities and strategies for developing academic writing skills. Learners have the opportunity to review key parts of the writing process from interpreting their assignment instructions, organizing their ideas, drafting their writing, and revising their work.

This textbook introduces aspects of the history of Canada since Confederation. “Canada” in this context includes Newfoundland and all the other parts that come to be aggregated into the Dominion after 1867. Much of this text follows thematic lines. Each chapter moves chronologically but with alternative narratives in mind. What Indigenous accounts must we place in the foreground? Which structures (economic or social) determine the range of choices available to human agents of history? What environmental questions need to be raised to gain a more complete understanding of choices made in the past and their ramifications?

Canadian History: Pre-Confederation is a survey text that introduces undergraduate students to important themes in North American history to 1867. It provides room for Aboriginal and European agendas and narratives, explores the connections between the territory that coalesces into the shape of modern Canada and the larger continent and world in which it operates, and engages with emergent issues in the field.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Final Report cited healing, reconciliation, and restoring the relationship between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Canadians as a critical priority for all Canadians. Moreover, the Commission exhorted Canada’s museums and galleries to work with Indigenous Peoples to better present their cultures and histories, including histories of assimilation, cultural loss and reclamation. The Shingwauk Residential Schools centre (SRSC) is taking up the charge to realize this vision through a multi phase education and outreach strategy, this ebook is part of that educational project.This open educational resource is focused on teaching the history of the colonial legacy of Residential Schools, with an emphasis on exploring the unique history of the Shingwauk Residential School which operated in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada. This project builds upon decades of archival research and data collection, including the recording of oral histories, under the SRSC’s mandate of ‘sharing, healing, and learning.’ ‘Realizing Healing and Reconciliation through Education’ is designed to increase the capacity of the SRSC to educate local, regional, and national audience about the history of Residential Schools.

Western Civilization: A Concise History​ is an Open Educational Resource textbook covering the history of Western Civilization from approximately 8,000 BCE to 2017 CE. Volume 1: from the origins of civilization in Mesopotamia c. 8,000 BCE through the early Middle Ages in Europe c. 1,000 CE. Volume 1 covers topics including Mesopotamia,Egypt, Persia, Greece, Rome, the Islamic caliphates, and the early European Middle Ages.Volume 2: from the early Middle Ages to the French Revolution in 1789 CE. Volume 2 covers topics including the High Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the European conquest of the Americas, the Reformation, the Scientific Revolution, and the Enlightenment.Volume 3: from the Napoleonic era to the recent past. Volume 3 covers topics including the Industrial Revolution, the politics of Europe in the nineteenth century, modern European imperialism, the world wars, fascism, Nazism, and the Holocaust, the postwar era, the Cold War, and recent developments in economics and politics.