The Heart of the Wild: essays on nature, conservation, and the human future
Call Number: QH 81 H395 2024
Wildlife Stewardship on Tribal Lands
Online Access
Library books are organized first by collection and then by a call number. The collection refers to the area of the library where an item is shelved. It can include the main library collection, the curriculum section, graphic section, a book display, or another collection. Signage is placed in the library to help you locate collections, and library staff are happy to direct you to a collection if you cannot find it.
A call number is a unique identifier on a physical item that tells both library staff and users where an item is found. These call numbers are typically printed onto a sticker that's placed on the spine of a book. Call numbers correspond to the item's subject and are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification system. In this system, the call number is comprised of a series of letters and numbers, starting with 1-2 letters at the top of the call number. These letters represent the subject of the book, and items are filed alphabetically according to these subject letters. This means that if you are looking for books on a particular subject, they will likely all be in the same section of the library!
Library of Congress call numbers can be long and a little tricky to decipher. Library staff are always happy to point you in the right direction when looking for books on the shelf. For more information on library of congress call numbers, view the slides linked below.
To narrow your search to only print books, select the "Print Books" tab on the library's website to begin your search. Any terms you search for while this tab is selected will only bring back results that are print books
You can also adjust your filters on the search result page to limit to print books. If you are on a computer or laptop, the filters will be on the left side of the screen. Open the menu for "Source Type" and select "Print Books". This will refresh the results page and only display print books.
On mobile, you can find the filters underneath the "Group & Refine This Search" menu located above the search results. Expand this menu and click on "Source Type" and select "print book" to limit your results to show only print books
| Call Number | Subject |
|---|---|
| G | Geography (General) |
| GA | Mathematical Geography |
| GB | Physical Geography |
| GE | Environmental Sciences |
To place a hold on an item means you are asking for the item to be pulled out from the main collection and set aside for you (if the item is already checked in) or set aside for you once the item has been returned (if the item has been checked out). To place a hold on a book, select the "Request Item" button that appears in the "Access Options" box on the item detail page.
You will be taken to a new page to fill out details about your request, including the option to request particular copies or volumes of a work, or request the item for only particular dates. Certain items (such as course reserves or charging cables) cannot be placed on hold. You will encounter an error message if you try to place these items on hold.
Requested items will be kept by the library service desk and must be checked out with the card that placed the hold. The holds will be filed alphabetically according to your last name. Once you have found your items, you can speak to staff at the service desk to check the items out. Holds are only kept on the hold shelf for one week. Once this week has passed, the item will either be returned to the shelf or be placed on hold for the next person who had requested the item.
King's Library provides access to thousands of eBooks that can be accessed 24/7 without needing to come into the library! You can search across all eBook holdings in the search bar on the main library website by selecting the "eBooks" tab on the search bar or by limiting your search on the result page using the filters under "source type". To access these books, click the "View eBook" button in the "Access Options" box or underneath the item's cover on the search results page. You will be taken to the eBook's platform to continue reading the book. You also have the option to search directly on these eBook platforms - you can use the Database Quicklink on the library website and filter the databases by type to to eBook databases only.
These platforms may offer different features, including options to download the book or parts of the book, bookmark pages, and search within the book. Information about each eBook database is available on the eBook Database List. For information about some of the most common eBook platforms, read the information below:
Course reserves are resources that are required for a course that are removed from the main library collection and placed in a special collection for short term loans. These short term loans allow for everyone in your class to use the resource, rather than needing to purchase individual copies. You can find a list of all course reserves on the library website.
Loans can range from a few hours to a few days, with most loans being 1 day loans. For anything less than a day, we recommend that you stay in the library with the item to ensure that it gets returned on time. Course reserves are subject to fines if they are returned late.
Physical items are kept at the library service desk and are staff mediated, meaning that you must speak to library staff in order to check out an item. Staff will tell you how long you have with the item and when to bring it back.
Electronic items, like eBooks, are listed on the library website with the link to the item. All you need to do is follow the link and then you will have access to the item. Some eBooks have limits on how many people can use the item at the same time, so if a eBook will not open, it may be that a classmate is already using it and you will need to access it later.
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a book or eBook in ACS style. More detailed information about citing in ACS style can be found on the citation research guide.
| Source | Components | Reference List Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Book | Authors. Book title; Publisher: Publication location, Publication date; pp Page–range (not required if whole book is referenced). | Morris, R. The Last Sorcerers: The Path from Alchemy to the Periodic Table; Joseph Henry Press: Washington, DC, 2003; pp 145–158. |
| eBook | Authors. Book title [Online]; Publisher: Publication location, Publication date; pp Page–range (not required if whole book is referenced). Top-level URL (accessed Access date). | Tour, J. M. Molecular Electronics: Commercial Insights, Chemistry, Devices, Architecture and Programming [Online]; World Scientific: River Edge, NJ, 2003; pp 177–180. http://legacy.netlibrary.com/ebook_info.asp?prod uct_id=91422 (accessed Nov 7, 2004). |
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a book or eBook in APA style. More detailed information about citing in ACS style can be found on the citation research guide.
| Source | Components | Reference List Example |
|---|---|---|
| Print Book | Author, A. A. (Publication date). Book title. (Translator, Trans.; Edition ed.). Publisher. | Shotton, M. A. (1989). Computer addiction? A study of computer dependency. Taylor & Francis. |
| eBook | Author, A. A. (Publication date). Book title. (Translator, Trans.; Edition ed.). Publisher. DOI or URL. | Rabinowitz, F. E. (2019). Deepening group psychotherapy with men: Stories and insights for the journey. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000132-000 |
The Chicago style of citations has undergone a recent update from the 17th edition to the 18th. This guide will include references for both of these systems. Check with your instructor, syllabus, or assignment instructions for information on which citation style you should be using. More detailed information about citing in Chicago style can be found on the citation research guide.
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a book in Chicago 17th edition (Notes-Bibliography) style.
| Source | Full Detail Content | Full Detail Example | Shortened Content | Shortened Example |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Print Book | Authors, Book Title (Publication location: Publisher, Publication date), Page-range. | 1. Atul Gawande, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End (London: Profile Books, 2014), 79–80. | Author Surnames, Shortened Book Title, Page–range. | 2. Gawande, Being Mortal, 191. |
| eBook |
Authors, Book Title (Publication location: Publisher, Publication date), Page-range, Database OR application OR URL/DOI *A chapter or paragraph number can be used to indicate location in place of page numbers |
1. Brooke Borel, Infested: How the Bed Bug Infiltrated Our Bedrooms and Took Over the World (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2015), 57, EBSCOhost. | Author Surnames, Shortened Book Title, Page-Range | 2. Borel, Infested, 57. |
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in Chicago 18th edition (Notes-Bibliography) style.
| Source | Full Detail Content | Full Detail Example | Shortened Content | Shortened Example |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Print Book | Authors, Book Title (Publisher, Publication date), page-range, | 1. Judith Butler, Who's Afraid of Gender (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2024), 14 | Author Surnames, Shortened Book Title Page–range. | 2. Butler, Who's Afraid, 14. |
| eBook | Authors, Book Title (Publisher, Publication date), page-range, Database OR application OR URL/DOI | 1. Emily Bronte, Wuthering Heights (Andrews UK Ltd., 2010), 75-76, EBSCOhost. | Author Surnames, Shortened Book Title Page–range. | 3. Bronte, Wuthering Heights, 55 |
CSE style of citations has undergone a recent update from the 8th edition to the 9th. This guide will include references for both of these systems. Check with your instructor, syllabus, or assignment instructions for information on which citation style you should be using. More detailed information about citing in CSE style can be found on the citation research guide.
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a book in CSE 9th edition (Name-Year) style.
| Source | Content | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Print Book |
Authors. Date. Book title. Edition. Publisher. *Note: If no edition is listed, then omit from reference. |
Ferrozzi F, Garlaschi G, Bova D. 2000. CT of metastases. Springer. |
| eBook |
Authors. Date. Book title. Edition. Publisher. URL *Note: If no edition is listed, then omit from reference. |
Griffiths AJF, Miller JH. 2000. Introduction to genetic analysis. 7th ed. W.H. Freeman & Co. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi? call=bv.View...ShowTOC&rid=iga. |
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in CSE 8th edition (Name-Year) style.
| Source | Content | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Print Book | Authors. Publication date. Book title. Publication location: Publisher. | Ferrozzi F, Garlaschi G, Bova D. 2000. CT of metastases. New York (NY): Springer. |
| eBook | Authors. Publication date. Book title. Edition. Publication location: Publisher; [accessed Access date]. URL. | Griffiths AJF, Miller JH. 2000. Introduction to genetic analysis. 7th ed. St Paul (MN): W.H. Freeman & Co.; [accessed 2005 May 31]. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?cal l=bv.View...ShowTOC&rid=iga. |
The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in MLA style. More detailed information about citing in MLA style can be found on the citation research guide.
| Source | Contents | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Print Book | Author last name, Author first name. Book Title. Publisher, Publication date. | Willoughby, Guy. Art and Christhood: The Aesthetics of Oscar Wilde. Fairleigh Dickinson UP, 1993. |
| eBook | Author last name, Author first name. Book Title. Publisher, Publication date. Database, URL. | Gikandi, Simon. Ngugi wa Thiong’o. Cambridge UP, 2000. ACLS Humanities E-book, hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.07588.0001.001. |
