Computer Science Research Guide: Find Background Info

Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology QA 76 R434 2003
A Glossary of Netspeak and Textspeak QA 76.15 C79 2004
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computing History QA 76.15 E53 2001
The Dictionary of Multimedia QA 76.15 H32 1998
Multimedia and the Web QA 76.575 D548 1998

• CDE - Computer Desktop Encyclopedia

  This compilation is based on The Computer Desktop Encyclopedia by Alan Freedman, and includes both definitions and in-depth explanations. It is fully searchable, with numerous cross-references, and many entries have illustrations, photos, charts, or diagrams.
• PC Magazine Encyclopedia

  Contains more than 20,000 IT-related definitions. These copyrighted entries are for personal use only.
• Babel: A Glossary of Computer Oriented Abbreviations and Acronyms

  A long list of computer-related abbreviations and acronyms, arranged alphabetically.
• Linktionary

  This online dictionary-encyclopedia provides concise definitions and detailed explanations of networking technologies, hardware and protocols, as well as general Internet and Web terminology.
• NetLingo

  An online dictionary about the Internet. It contains thousands of words and definitions that describe the technology and community of the World Wide Web.
• Ritter's Crypto Glossary and Dictionary of Technical Cryptography

  Terry Ritter provides a dictionary explaining technical cryptographic terminology. Site includes short discussions on many related topics, collected from 1995 to 2007.
• Web Dictionary of Cybernetics and Systems

  Concise definitions covering cybernetics and systems theory. This dictionary is a combination of the ASC Glossary, Krippendorff's Dictionary and Hornung's Glossary.
• Webopedia: Online Computer Dictionary for Computer and Internet Terms and Definitions

  An online dictionary and search engine to lookup terminology used to describe computer and Internet technology.

Wikipedia is not generally considered an appropriate source for academic research.

The credibility of the information is often questioned, as anyone is able to edit the pages.

Wikipedia can, however, be used as a starting point.

Check out the video below for more information: "Using Wikipedia for Academic Research"