Research Tips and Tricks

Finding scholarly articles with databases is generally straightforward.

However, it is crucial to remember that not all articles in the databases will be scholarly. Therefore, it is vital to use filters to narrow the results to just scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. 

While most databases will have a filter for scholarly or peer-reviewed sources, the language will be different.

Step 1: Enter your keywords into the box on the library home page and click on search.

Also, if you are off-campus you will need to log in before accessing any of the resources. Click here for more information.

Step 2: Many of the results will not be scholarly articles or articles you can access, so you need to add two filters to narrow the results. 

Step 3: Once the results are updated, the remaining articles will be scholarly/peer-reviewed articles and should be articles you can access.

To access the full text of articles there are a couple different ways to access the text.

• The easiest is if you see a PDF icon under a result such as the one below. If a result has that PDF, simply click on "PDF Full text," and the full text should display in a new window as a PDF that can be downloaded. 

• Another straightforward method is if you see "HTML Full Text." If you see this icon under a result, you can click on this icon, and it will open the full text of the article that will look like a webpage. This is not ideal because there are no page numbers. 

• The most common way to access articles is through the "Full-Text Finder" icon. See below for more information.

 

The "Full-Text Finder" icon is the most common method for accessing articles. There are a few steps involved!
Once you click on the "Full-Text Finder" icon, one of two things will appear on the new window. 

1. If you see the text below after clicking on "Full-Text Finder." Unfortunately, you can't access the article immediately. However, you can submit an interlibrary loan request (click here for more information).
   
   
2. If you see text similar to the screenshots below, click on one of the links.

After clicking on the links, one of two things will happen

1. If you are directed to a page that displays the title of the article prominently, somewhere on the page should be the ability to download a PDF copy of the article or display the full text in the window. Note: You may have to click on the title one more time to access the article. 
    
2. If you are directed to a page for the journal that displays numerous articles or different issue numbers then you will need to return to the previous tab and look at the top of the window under the article's title for volume, issue and publication year. 

Once you know this information, return to the window displaying the publisher's page and navigate the correct year, volume and/or issue number. This should display a list of papers published in that issue; somewhere on that list should be the article you are interested in. 

 

If you need more help, please book an appointment by clicking here. 

To locate journal articles on your topic, you can also search journal database; unlike the library, these databases are generally subject specific. 

Most online journal databases allow you to:

• Search by keyword, subject, author, title and within specific journals.
• Search in subject-specific databases.
• Use subject-specific filters.

There are three methods of finding databases at the library:

1. The first method is to click here; this will allow you to access a complete list of the databases.
2. The second method is to click here, this will allow you to access a complete list of the databases, but you can sort by subjects or database types. 
3. The third method is to click here, where you can access research guides. Once you find the subject that most closely fits your topic, click on the subject from the new page, click on "find articles" from the menu, and then select one of the list databases.  

When searching these databases, make sure you filter to scholarly/peer reviewed articles. 

If you are off-campus, you will need to log in before accessing any of the resources. Click here for more information.