Skip to Main Content

Theology Research Guide

Using websites for Research

Websites can be a useful tool for finding information on a particular topic. In particular, websites are useful for looking for government information, statistics, professional organizations, and introductory information. Websites are generally not considered scholarly sources, however, so use caution when using them for your research. Always try to verify the information you find and always critically engage with internet sources. There are lots of tools available to help you discern what is a good source of information or not. Visit our page on Evaluating Sources to learn more. 

Websites Related to Theology

Citing Websites

The table below provides basic instructions for how to cite a webpage in ACS style. More detailed information about citing in ACS style can be found on the citation research guide. 

Source Component Reference List Example
Web Page Authors (if known). Web page title, Publication date (if known). Title of Web site. URL (accessed Access date). Periodic Table of Elements, 2016. International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry Web site. https://iupac.org/what-we-do/periodic-table-ofelements/ (accessed Jan 12, 2018).

 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a webpage in APA style. More detailed information about citing in ACS style can be found on the citation research guide. 

Source Components Reference List Example
Webpage Author, A. A. (Publication date). Web page title. URL The College of William & Mary. (n.d.). The William & Mary mission statement. http://www.wm.edu/about/administration/ provost/about/mission/

The Chicago style of citations has undergone a recent update from the 17th edition to the 18th. This guide will include references for both of these systems. Check with your instructor, syllabus, or assignment instructions for information on which citation style you should be using. More detailed information about citing in Chicago style can be found on the citation research guide. 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a website in Chicago 17th edition (Notes-Bibliography) style.

Source Full Detail Content Full Detail Example Shortened Content Shortened Example
Webpage Author OR Organization (if available), "Web Page Title," Website Title (if any beyond organizer's name), Publication date (or revision date), URL 1. Heather Wolfe, “Was Early Modern Writing Paper Expensive?” Folger Shakespeare Library, February 13, 2018, https://collation.folger.edu/2018 /02/writing-paper-expensive/ Author Surname, "Shortened Web Page Title"
2.Wolfe, "Was Early Modern Writing"

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in Chicago 18th edition (Notes-Bibliography) style.

Source Full Detail Content Full Detail Example Shortened Content Shortened Example
Webpage Author OR organization (If available). "Web Page Title." Website Name (if different than organization). Publication date (or revision date), URL. 1. Government of Canada. "Women in the Canadian Armed Forces." Last modified March 3, 2025, https://www.canada.ca/en/department-national-defence/services/women-in-the-forces.html. Author last name, "Shortened webpage title" 2. Government of Canada, "Women"

 

CSE style of citations has undergone a recent update from the 8th edition to the 9th. This guide will include references for both of these systems. Check with your instructor, syllabus, or assignment instructions for information on which citation style you should be using. More detailed information about citing in CSE style can be found on the citation research guide. 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a webpage in CSE 9th edition (Name-Year) style.

Source Content Example
Webpage Authors (if known). Publication date or updated date. Web page title. Publisher. URL Mirin, B. 2024 Sep 25. Inside the Indonesian Songbird Trade. Cornell Lab. https://www.allaboutbirds.org/news/insidethe-indonesian-songbird-trade/

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in CSE 8th edition (Name-Year) style.

Source Content Example
Webpage Authors. Publication date. Web page title. Publication location: Publisher; [accessed Access date]. URL. Lawrence RA. 1997. A review of the medical benefits and contraindications to breastfeeding in the United States. Arlington (VA): National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (US); [accessed 2005 Jun 28]. http://www.ncemch.org/pubs/PDFs/breastfeedin gTIB.pdf.

 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in MLA style. More detailed information about citing in MLA style can be found on the citation research guide. 

Source Content Example
Webpage Author last name, Author first name. “Web Page Title.” Website Title. Publisher (omit if same as Website Title), Publication date (if available), URL. Accessed Access date (optional, but beneficial). Wolfe, Heather. “Was Early Modern Writing Paper Expensive?” Folger Shakespeare Library, 13 Feb 2018, collation.folger.edu/2018/02/writing-paperexpensive/.