Guides: Indigenous Research Guide: Find Articles

Search Tip- Indigenous Studies

Due to the changing nature of language and terminology used to describe Indigenous people both across the country and throughout time, when searching it is beneficial use both old and new terminology, as well as general and specific words to find relevant material. Here are a few examples:

General terms: Indigenous, Aboriginal, First Nations, Inuit, Métis, Native, First Peoples, Indian

Specific terms: Montagnais, Haudenosaunee, Iroquois, Ojibwe, Ojibway, Anishinaabe, Cree, Dene, Athapaska, Haisla, Sto:lo

For more terms, especially specific names read this entry in the Canadian Encyclopedia Indigenous Peoples in Canada or click here for more terms.

However, when you go to write the paper carefully consider the language and terms you use.

These databases are the most useful for finding articles on Indigenous Studies.

Alberta Research Portal This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

This is a gateway to a world-class collection of primary sources.

What's included?

Provides access to multiple primary source collections.

Getting Sources?

All sources included are full text.
This purchase was possible due to the extraordinary generosity of the members that contributed funds towards the purchase price of the collection. These purchase contributors are recognized throughout this website. The purchase of Gale Primary Sources and the creation of the Alberta Research Portal is an outstanding example of member-driven, cross-sectoral collaboration and was carried out in the true spirit of TAL’s mission.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North Americans This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

This database contains research related to native North American culture, history, and life from the Sixteenth century to the present.

What's included?

Academic journal articles, books, newspapers and magazines.

Getting Articles?

For articles without a PDF/HTML, just click on "Full Text Finder" then follow the links or submit an ILL request for the item.
This database contains links to databases that contain material representing the historical experience of indigenous peoples as authored by European settler communities, Christian religious organizations, government agencies, non-indigenous scholars and scientists, and indigenous individuals and organizations.

Furthermore, these resources may express attitudes that reflect ideas and prejudices at their point of creation and some of these terms and perspectives are no longer acceptable. These materials are meant for academic research and teaching purposes.

Adapted from shorturl.at/joBV1

First Nations Periodical Index

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

If you researching European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia from 1650-1920.

What's included?

Primary source documents including images, maps, memoirs, newspapers, books and more.

Getting Sources?

All sources included are full text.
This database contains links to databases that contain material representing the historical experience of indigenous peoples as authored by European settler communities, Christian religious organizations, government agencies, non-indigenous scholars and scientists, and indigenous individuals and organizations.

Furthermore, these resources may express attitudes that reflect ideas and prejudices at their point of creation and some of these terms and perspectives are no longer acceptable. These materials are meant for academic research and teaching purposes.

Adapted from shorturl.at/joBV1
Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

Gain access to documents related to Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

What's included?

Provides access to full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs.

Getting Sources?

All sources included are full text.
This database contains links to databases that contain material representing the historical experience of indigenous peoples as authored by European settler communities, Christian religious organizations, government agencies, non-indigenous scholars and scientists, and indigenous individuals and organizations.

Furthermore, these resources may express attitudes that reflect ideas and prejudices at their point of creation and some of these terms and perspectives are no longer acceptable. These materials are meant for academic research and teaching purposes.

Adapted from shorturl.at/joBV1
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

Historical journals from the arts, humanities and social sciences.

What's included?

Providing full text and citation access to backfiles of scholarly periodicals.

Getting Articles?

For articles without a PDF/HTML, just click on "Full Text Finder" then follow the links or submit an ILL request for the item.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

This database provides access to newspapers from across Canada dating back to the 1970s.

What's included?

Collection of newspapers from across Canada, both dailies and community papers. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are excluded.

Getting Sources?

All sources included are full text.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Why search here?

If you are looking for Canadian content.

What's included?

Full-text magazines and journals, Canadian newspapers and newswires including Canadian Press, The Guelph Mercury, The Hamilton Spectator, La Presse Canadienne (en Francais), The Record and Toronto Star. It also includes full text for leading Canadian reference books including Canadian Global Almanac.

Getting Articles?

For articles without a PDF/HTML, just click on "Full Text Finder" then follow the links or submit an ILL request for the item.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for academic literature on many subjects.

Carefully evaluate the quality of the items you find using Google Scholar. You may not be able to access all of the articles you find, but it can be a quick place to start your research!

When searching Google Scholar, you may encounter results that require you to pay for access to an article. Do not pay for access. If you encounter a paywall for an article that you need, please contact the library for assistance. You link your's King's University access to Google Scholar to ensure that you have access to articles that the library subscribes to. Follow the steps below to link your library:

Click on the menu icon on the top left corner of Google scholar
Click on "Settings"
Click on "Library links" on the list of options on the top left
Search for "The King's University Edmonton - King's University, YEG" in the search bar and check off the box.
Hit "Save"