Skip to Main Content

Advanced Searching Techniques

Personal Database Account

Research requires compiling many different resources and adjusting the approach you take with your search. Having an account on the databases that you use can be extremely helpful with this process. An account allows you to save items to different folders or collections, save searches to adapt or return to in the future, or create alerts for a particular search string.

Keep in mind you will need to create a separate account for different databases, and folders you create will not be shared across accounts. Your Library Account will only save your work done through WorldCat Discovery, but not individual databases. 

When creating accounts for any other database, you will be able to choose what email you use and will be prompted to create your own password. The library does not have access to the login information for these databases. If you forget your login information, you will need to use the tools available on the databases you created an account with.

Creating Accounts in Databases

Your library account is where you can manage your holds, checked out items, and save items and searches across the entire library catalogue. Your library account uses your King's University email and password - no need to create a new password or remember a PIN!

To access your library account, click on the "My Account" Quick Link on the library homepage.

On the "Sign in Selection" page, click "King's University current students and staff login". Then use your King's email and password to sign in. 

To learn more about using your library account, visit the Library User Guide for more information!

Creating an account for an EBSCOhost Database allows you to use the same password and login for any other EBSCOhost database. For example, the account you use for PsycInfo will be the same one you use for SocIndex. Follow the steps below to create an account on an EBSCOhost Database.

1. Access any EBSCOhost Database and click the "Sign In" link in the top right of the page. 

2. You will be redirected to a log in page. Click on "Create an Account" at the top of the login box.

3. Enter in the required information, then read and agree to the privacy policy. Click "Create Account"

You will be able to sign into any EBSCOhost Database using the email and password you created while signing up. The library does not have access to your login information. If you forget your password, click on the "Forgot your password" link on the sign in screen.

 

  1. Click on Science Direct from the list of databases here
     
  2. Click on "Sign In"
    Visual representative of above instructions
     
  3. Click on "Sign in via your institution"
    Visual representative of above instructions

     
  4. Enter your King's email and click on continue 
    Visual representative of above instructions
     
  5. If you see a message similar to the one below, check your King's email account for a conformation email 
    Visual representative of above instructions

     
  6. In your email account, click on the email from Elsevier, then click on "Get access"

    Visual representative of above instructions
     
  7. You have now created an account
     
  1. Click on JStor from the database list
     
  2. Click on register 
    Visual representative of above instructions
     
  3. Fill in on the information to register an account.
    Visual representative of above instructions

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike 4.0.