*Note the text in red should be replaced with the specific information from the entry you are using
The first time you cite the entry
AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, "Title of the Entry," in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ed. Stanley Sadie, 2nd ed., Vol. # (New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries Inc., 2001), PageNumber(s).
Every subsequent time, you cite the same entry
AuthorLastName, "Title of the Entry," PageNumber(s).
*Note the text in red should be replaced with the specific information from the entry you are using
*Note: The citation in your bibliography should also have a hanging indent
AuthorLastName, AuthorFirstName. " Title of the Entry." In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie. 2nd ed., Vol. #, PageRange(s). New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries Inc., 2001.
Subject-specific encyclopedias contain entries focusing on one field of study.
Use an encyclopedia:
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada by 
Milton Cross New Encyclopedia of the Great Composers and their MusicThese are a selection of the subject dictionaries in our collection.
A Dictionary of Musical Quotations by 
All Music Guide to Classical Music by 
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by 
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by 
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Handbooks are collections of information that provide quick answers in a particular field or about a particular technique.
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical by 
The New Grove Guide to Wagner and His Operas by Wikipedia is not generally considered an appropriate source for academic research.
The credibility of the information is often questioned, as anyone is able to edit the pages.
Wikipedia can, however, be used as a starting point.
Check out the video below for more information: "Using Wikipedia for Academic Research"