King's Library provides access to thousands of eBooks that can be accessed 24/7 without needing to come into the library! You can search across all eBook holdings in the search bar on the main library website by selecting the "eBooks" tab on the search bar or by limiting your search on the result page using the filters under "source type". To access these books, click the "View eBook" button in the "Access Options" box or underneath the item's cover on the search results page. You will be taken to the eBook's platform to continue reading the book. You also have the option to search directly on these eBook platforms - you can use the Database Quicklink on the library website and filter the databases by type to to eBook databases only.
These platforms may offer different features, including options to download the book or parts of the book, bookmark pages, and search within the book. Information about each eBook database is available on the eBook Database List. For information about what eBook platforms you have access to, check out the resources in the box below!
The King's University Library has a large number of electronic books (e-books). These books have either been purchased by King's Library or are part of an electronic resource subscribed to by King's. The links below are databases that primarily contain eBooks or databases that have access to many eBooks as part of their collection.
Open Access covers materials that have been published with the intention to make them freely accessible with no cost or other barriers. While materials are free to access, the creator of the work still holds copyright; by publishing under an open access license, the copyright holder allows free access to the materials and reuse and adaptation with proper attribution. Always verify the license of an open access publication before reuse or adaptation.
Public Domain refers to materials not covered by copyright and therefore can be freely accessed. Public Domain materials can include works that were published before copyright laws existed, where the copyright was waived, or where the copyright expired. In Canada, works enter the public domain 70 years after the death of the creator.
The databases below provide access to eBooks published under an open access license or works within the public domain.
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are educational materials that are published under an open license and may be accessed at no-cost and may be reused, redistributed, and adapted with proper attribution.
Edmonton Public Library has access to thousands of eBooks for your learning or entertainment! You will need an EPL card or L-Pass card to access electronic items. For more information about gaining access, visit our L-Pass page or visit EPL for more information.
Explore EPL's online eBook Resources for a complete list of eBook databases available through EPL.
