Skip to Main Content

Education Research Guide

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike 4.0.

Article Databases

Find Articles

Search through the Electronic Resource List to see a list of databases related to Education. You can read about the database and then select it to start searching for articles related to your topic. 

Education Databases

You can also read about some suggested databases listed below. Click the link to be taken to the database to begin your search.

What is a database?

As the name implies, journal articles are articles that are published in journals. There are thousands of journals in publication, with a variety of specializations and subject areas covered. Because there are so many journals available, it can be difficult to search for articles if you are going through the journals directly. Instead, what most researchers do is access journal articles through databases. Databases bundle the content from multiple journals together to allow researchers to find articles that match their search terms from any relevant journal. This is a much more efficient way to search for articles that are relevant to your research. Databases may also include other resources beyond just journal articles, including newspaper articles, magazine articles, books, videos, and more.

Databases each offer their own unique bundle of journal titles and content. Some databases are interdisciplinary, meaning that they provide access to journals that cover a variety of subject areas. In contrast, subject specific databases will primarily collect journals that cover a narrow subject area, such as only journals that talk about English Literature or health information. Subject specific can vary in how broad or narrow they are, such as databases that only provide resources on Canadian business information, to databases that cover all subjects classified as "Science". 

Searching the Library Website

Use the search bar on the library website to search across all library databases and repositories for articles. Select the "Articles" tab to get only articles as your source type. You may also search for "everything" and then use the filters under the "Source Type" menu to limit to "Articles". 

Not at Kings?

If your search on the library website is not getting the results you need, then there are some ways to expand your search to look beyond our institution. Check out the following tabs for some more options, or reach out to a librarian for help finding resources!

Google scholar searches across the entire indexed web for items classified as scholarly materials. Google Scholar does not evaluate the items it retrieves, so keep the following in mind:

  • Your search may bring back articles from journals that are not reputable and do not use the peer review process. You must verify that an article is from a peer reviewed journal by searching for information about the journal and verifying if it is trustworthy.
  • The resources you find on Google Scholar might not all be journal articles. Google Scholar can also bring back theses, dissertations, government reports, book chapters, and more. These items are not peer reviewed and may not meet the requirements for your assignment; pay close attention to the resources you find and evaluate them to determine if they are suitable for use.
  • You may encounter items that are not freely available to you and will ask for money before you can view them. In some cases, the King's library may have access to the items you find on Google scholar. Run a search for the title using the library website, or talk to a librarian for further assistance.

To get the most out of Google Scholar, link your institution so articles that you can access with your King's Library membership are available to you. Follow the steps below to link your King's institution access to Google Scholar:

  1. Go to Google Scholar and select the 3 lined menu on the left
  2. Click on "Settings"
  3. On the left side menu, click on "Library Links"
  4. Search for "The Kings University Edmonton". Do not include an apostrophe in "Kings". 
  5. Check the box next to "The Kings University Edmonton - King's University, YEG" and click "save"

Once you link your library, any search results that you can access using your King's Library credentials will be listed on the result page. You may still need to sign in using your King's University email and password.

As a student of the King's University, you have access to NEOS library collections, including electronic items. To access these items, you must visit the NEOS library campus and speak to staff, who will use your King's Student ID card to create an account for you. While you are physically on their campus, you may access their electronic journals and articles. For more information about NEOS Libraries, visit the NEOS Libraries Information Page.

By default, the library search will only bring back items found in the King's library collection. You have the option to expand your search to include NEOS libraries in Edmonton or NEOS libraries outside of Edmonton. You can also expand your search to libraries worldwide, however this will show you items that you may not be able to access and so we do not recommend using this option.

You can either expand your search using the advanced search page or by using the filters on the search result page. 

Advanced Search

  1. Access the Advanced Search by clicking on the link in the top left corner (on a desktop machine) or underneath the Quick Links dropdown menu (on a mobile device). 
  2. Enter your search terms into the search bars and then scroll down to "Additional Tools"
  3. Underneath "Held by Library", check off the libraries you want to expand your search to. 

Search Results Filter

  1. Conduct a search on the library website to be taken to the search result page
  2. Access the filter menu on the left side of the page (if on a desktop computer) or by expanding the "Group & Refine This Search" menu at the top of the results (if on a mobile device)
  3. Expand the "Held By Library" menu and check off the libraries you want to expand your search to

Click on an item to be taken to it's detail page and scroll down to the heading that reads "Other Availability & Holdings". Click on "Other Libraries Worldwide" and a side menu will appear that lists all the libraries that hold the item, with the closest library listed first in the list.

 

Students and employees at The King's University may request materials not held by The King's University Library or in NEOS Libraries via interlibrary loan (ILL). Materials must be for the purpose of research, private study, criticism, review, or news reporting only. 

The library will only be requesting copies for interlibrary loans, which are items that do not need to be returned to their loaning library, such as copies of articles or book chapters. Items that must be shipped back to the loaning library, such as books or DVDs will not be fulfilled. Please ensure you have checked the library website for the item to ensure that it is not available at King's or another NEOS library. Also ensure that the item you are looking for is not freely available - you can look for the item on Google Scholar to ensure to look for open access copies.

To request an ILL, fill out the ILL Request Form with as much information about the item as you can. Keep in mind that ILLs can take time to process and fulfill so you should plan for 5 days minimum before you receive your item. 

How to Cite an Article

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in APA style. More detailed information about citing in APA style can be found on the citation research guide. 

Source Components Reference List Example
Print Journal Article Author, A. A. (Publication date). Article title. Journal Title, Volume(Issue), Page–range. Silick, T. J., & Schutte, N. S. (2006). Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Journal of Applied Psychology, 2(2), 38–48.
Online Journal Article Author, A. A. (Publication date). Article title. Journal Title, Volume(Issue—if necessary), Page–range. https://doi.org/DOI Herbst-Damm, K. L., & Kulik, J. A. (2005). Volunteer support, marital status, and the survival times of terminally ill patients. Health Psychology, 24, 225–229. https://doi.org/10.1037/0278-6133.24.2.225

 

The Chicago style of citations has undergone a recent update from the 17th edition to the 18th. This guide will include references for both of these systems. Check with your instructor, syllabus, or assignment instructions for information on which citation style you should be using. More detailed information about citing in Chicago style can be found on the citation research guide. 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in Chicago 17th edition (Notes-Bibliography) style.

Source Full Detail Content Full Detail Example Shortened Content Shortened Example
Print Journal Article Authors, “Article Title,” Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Publication date): Page–range. 1. Donald Maletz, “Tocqueville’s Tangents to Democracy,” American Political Thought 4, no. 4 (Fall 2015): 615. Author Surnames, “Shortened Article Title,” Page–range. 2. Maletz, “Tocqueville’s Tangents to Democracy,” 615.
Online Journal Article Authors, “Article Title,” Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Publication date): Page–range, DOI, URL or Database. 1. Frank P. Whitney, “The Six-Year High School in Cleveland,” School Review 37, no. 4 (April 1929): 268, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1078814. Author Surnames, “Shortened Article Title,” Page–range. 3. Whitney, “Six-Year High School,” 268.

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in Chicago 18th edition (Notes-Bibliography) style.

Source Full Detail Content Full Detail Example Shortened Content Shortened Example
Print Journal Article Authors, “Article Title,” Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Publication date): Page–range. 1. Donald Maletz, “Tocqueville’s Tangents to Democracy,” American Political Thought 4, no. 4 (Fall 2015): 615. Author Surnames, “Shortened Article Title,” Page–range. 2. Maletz, “Tocqueville’s Tangents to Democracy,” 615.
Online Journal Article Authors, “Article Title,” Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Publication date): Page–range, DOI, URL or Database. 1. Frank P. Whitney, “The Six-Year High School in Cleveland,” School Review 37, no. 4 (April 1929): 268, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1078814. Author Surnames, “Shortened Article Title,” Page–range. 3. Whitney, “Six-Year High School,” 268.

CSE style of citations has undergone a recent update from the 8th edition to the 9th. This guide will include references for both of these systems. Check with your instructor, syllabus, or assignment instructions for information on which citation style you should be using. More detailed information about citing in CSE style can be found on the citation research guide. 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in CSE 9th edition (Name-Year) style.

Source Content Example
Print Journal Article

Authors. Date. Article title. Abbreviated Journal Title. Volume(Issue):Page-range.

[If no issue number, then omit from reference]

 Smart N, Fang ZY, Marwick TH. 2003. A practical guide to exercise training for heart failure patients. J Card Fail. 9(1):49-58.
Online Journal Article

Authors. Date. Article title. Abbreviated Journal Title. Volume(Issue):Page-range or article number. DOI or URL.

[If no issue number, then omit from reference]

 Lu S et al. 2024. Genomic structural variants analysis in leukemia by a novel cytogenic technique: Optical genome mapping. Cancer Sci. 115(11):3542-3551. doi:10.1111/cas.16325

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in CSE 8th edition (Name-Year) style.

Source Full Detail Content Full Detail Example
Print Journal Article Authors. Publication date. Article title. Journal title. Volume(Issue):Page-range. Smart N, Fang ZY, Marwick TH. 2003. A practical guide to exercise training for heart failure patients. J Card Fail. 9(1):49-58.
Online Journal Article Authors. Publication date. Article title. Journal title. [accessed Access date];Volume(Issue):Page-range. URL. DOI. Savage E, Ramsay M, White J. 2005. Mumps outbreaks across England and Wales in 2004. BMJ. [accessed 2005 May 31];330(7500):1119- 1120. http://bmj.bmjjournals.com/cgi/reprint/330/7500 /1119. doi:10.1016/bmj.330.7500.1119.

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in MLA style. More detailed information about citing in MLA style can be found on the citation research guide. 

Source Components Reference List Example
Print Journal Article Author last name, Author first name. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. Volume, no. Issue, Publication date, pp. Page-range. Gieken, Rosemary, et al. “Putting the Cart Before the Horse: The Role of a Socio-Moral Atmosphere in an Inquiry-Based Curriculum.” Childhood Education, vol. 85, no. 4, Summer 2009, pp. 260-63.
Online Journal Article Author last name, Author first name. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. Volume, no. Issue, Publication date, pp. Page-range. Database, DOIorURL. Marcus, Amit. “Resolving Textual Discrepancies in Fictional Story Worlds: Two Approaches and Further Suggestions.” Journal of Literary Semantics, vol. 41, no. 1, Mar. 2012, pp. 1-24. EBSCOHost, doi: 10.1515/jls-2012-0001.

 

The table below provides instructions for how to cite a journal article in ACS style. More detailed information about citing in ACS style can be found on the citation research guide. 

Source Components Reference List Example
Print Journal Article Authors. Article title. Journal title Year, Volume, Page–range. Feldman, A. W.; Romesberg, F. E. Expansion of the Genetic Alphabet: A Chemist’s Approach to Synthetic Biology. Acc. Chem. Res. 2018, 51, 394–403.
Online Journal Article Authors. Article title. Journal title [Online] Year, Volume, Page–range. Database (if applicable). Top-level URL (accessed Access date). Lim, J. B.; Jo, D.; Hong, S. B. Palladium-exchanged small-pore zeolites with different cage systems as methane combustion catalysts. Appl. Catal., B [Online] 2017, 219, 155–162. Academic Search Complete. http://www.ebscohost.com/academic/ academic-search-complete (accessed Apr 1, 2018).