When you click on an item from your search results, you will be taken to the item detail page. The item detail page will include a thorough listing of all the information we have about an item, how to access the item, and other related tools. The detail page is divided into the following elements:
To place a hold on an item means you are asking for the item to be pulled out from the main collection and set aside for you (if the item is already checked in) or set aside for you once the item has been returned (if the item has been checked out). To place a hold on a book, select the "Request Item" button that appears in the "Access Options" box on the item detail page.
You will be taken to a new page to fill out details about your request, including the option to request particular copies or volumes of a work, or request the item for only particular dates. Certain items (such as course reserves or charging cables) cannot be placed on hold. You will encounter an error message if you try to place these items on hold.
Requested items will be kept by the library service desk and must be checked out with the card that placed the hold. The holds will be filed alphabetically according to your last name. Once you have found your items, you can speak to staff at the service desk to check the items out. Holds are only kept on the hold shelf for one week. Once this week has passed, the item will either be returned to the shelf or be placed on hold for the next person who had requested the item.
The King's Library has access to thousands of electronic items. These items range from eBooks and online articles to music recordings, videos, images, and more. Electronic Items will have a button that allows you to access the item. This button is available on the search results page underneath the item image or on the item detail page in the "Access Options" box. Some electronic items will take you directly to the resource, such as an article or an eBook that will open to a PDF copy of the item. Others will take you to a new database which contains another item detail page, which will require you to click another button in order to access the item.
eAudio Recording from the search results page
Some electronic items will require you to authenticate if you are accessing them when off-campus or not using campus wifi to connect to the item. You will authenticate using your King's University email and password.
For more information on accessing eBooks, refer to the E-books @ King's research guide.
You can locate physical items in the library using the collection location and the item call number. The collection location refers to what section of the library the item is shelved in, such as the main collection, the curriculum collection, or special sections such as a book display or course reserves shelf.
The item call number is a string of letters and numbers that describes an item and tells library workers and users where the item is shelved in the library. Most academic libraries, including the King's University Library, use a system called the Library of Congress Classification to sort books on the shelves. This system will organize books by subjects, so books on a similar topic will be found together. The library has signs at the end of the bookcases to help you find your item, and you can always ask library staff to help you locate an item on the shelf.
The item collection and call number can be read on both the search result page as well as the item detail page. On the search result page it will be listed underneath the summary of the item.
Alternatively, the item location for physical items is found in the access options box.
Students and employees at The King's University may request materials not held by The King's University Library or in NEOS Libraries via interlibrary loan (ILL). Materials must be for the purpose of research, private study, criticism, review, or news reporting only.
The library will only be requesting copies for interlibrary loans, which are items that do not need to be returned to their loaning library, such as copies of articles or book chapters. Items that must be shipped back to the loaning library, such as books or DVDs will not be fulfilled. Please ensure you have checked the library website for the item to ensure that it is not available at King's or another NEOS library. Also ensure that the item you are looking for is not freely available - you can look for the item on Google Scholar to ensure to look for open access copies.
To request an ILL, send us an email to ill@kingsu.ca with as much information about the item as you can. Keep in mind that ILLs can take time to process and fulfill so you should plan for 5 days minimum before you receive your item.